Warioware: Smooth Moves

Recently I bought a Nintendo Wii, And I am extremely happy with said purchase – However I think there’s been a big lack of games to compliment the initial release date.  Sure, there was Zelda, that game was amazing, Wii Sports ( which comes with the console ) that game is brilliant too.  The Sub-Standard Wii Play ( Bought only for the cheaper Wiimote contained within ), Red Steel which, although unpolished, is quite good in its own right.  And Rayman, Raving Rabbids, which is fun in its sillyness.  But when you consider the fact that Mario Galaxy, Metroid Prime 3, And a new Smash Brothers game were among the first lot of launch titles, it’s a little dissapointing.

Smooth Moves Boxart

Yesterday I picked up my first post-launch wii title.  Warioware: Smooth Moves.  Not knowing what to expect, I was pleasantly suprised!  For those that dont know, warioware basically is a series of *extremely* short 5 second minigames.  Played in quick succession, with the speed increasing as the game progresses.  But it’s not the concept that I find strange, it’s the art direction and general design style the game takes.  There’s only one word for it.  Bizzare. On top of that, in order to play the game you have to switch “Forms” ( different ways to hold the “wiimote” or “Form Baton” ), These form education screens I thought were the best part of the game.  Quite funny and witty.  This game strikes me as the perfect companion to a drunken party.  Who else would want to see thier friends holding a remote to thier nose while trying to pick up apples from a basket and give them to a girl.  Hilarity is *bound* to ensue.

The most interesting part of this game however, is the use of the wiimote itself.  It is really a showcase of what the nintendo wii is capable of.  I didn’t actually realise just how sensitive the wiimote is until I played the car driving “Boss Stage” , or the Starfox “Boss Stage”.  It really is quite interesting.

I’ve noticed quite a few people have figured out how to get the accelerometre data out of the wiimote and on to a comptuer, so I was thinking that I could use it in my final project some how.  It definately would have helped me in my previous ” weather room ” assignment from last semester . . . maybe an extension of that project ? who knows … who knows.  All I know is that this has further increased my confidence that the Nintendo Wii wont just fade off into the distance, I think it will be one of the front runners in the latest console race.  Just goes to show, once more, that if you’ve got a great design team and a great design concept, you don’t need amazing graphics to make a great game.

About aA

I'm a 28 year old Designer from Brisbane, Australia. I've got a keen interest in Motion Graphics, Illustration, and Game Design. View all posts by aA

Leave a Reply

