A New Game, A New Project

I was bored today so I ventured out of the house and to the computer games store and picked up a new game. It’s actually one I’ve been rather interested in for a while now. It’s called “Okami” and it seems like a really interesting game. It got numerous game of the year awards and a whole heap of art direction mentions. The game itself is heavily steeped in Japanese Mythology and has one of the most unique visual styles I’ve ever seen in a game. It’s rare that computer games stray from the norm ( in terms of art direction ), occasionally however – you get games like Killer7, or Legend of Zelda:The Windwaker – Which just come up with something totally new, and totally unique. I’m always impressed! Okami seems to be one of these games. So I’m very excited – Im off to play it in a few minutes, I’ll post a review in a while to tell you what I think.

In other news, I also made another purchase today, which – I hope, will help me with my next project. It’s in the early stages so far, but it should be a great little outlet for me. I’ll probably eventually have to find a decent home for it ( Not just a wordpress blog ) , but we’ll see how things go. I’ll be posting some concept art in a few days time after I’ve developed the designs. Until then, I’m keeping the concept and the idea under wraps – it’s nothing amazing, but it’s inspired by someone whos artwork I really respect, who I’ll be doing a little feature on in a few days too. Got to keep myself busy, right ? All in all, good purchases!

okamipens.jpg

About aA

I'm a 28 year old Designer from Brisbane, Australia. I've got a keen interest in Motion Graphics, Illustration, and Game Design. View all posts by aA

Leave a Reply

