Giantman

So I mentioned a while back that I was working on a present for a friend. Well I think I’ve got it. I don’t know, I might do another, but I think I’m pretty happy with how this turned out. It’s just a pity my scanner is so dodgy that it can’t do justice to the crispness of the original sketch. The scans always look sort of … “fuzzy”.

So I thought I’d do something new and post a process. I was bored tonight and so I did my sketches slightly differently. Did a pencil sketch first :

giantman_step1.jpg

Following the pencil sketch, I refined it a little further and did basic Inking :

giantman_step2.jpg

Following this, I added some detail, something I once again don’t normally do…

giantman_step3.jpg

It was at this point I started to wonder how I was going to finish this. Would I leave it as a sketch? Would I colour it? How should I colour it ? I decided to jump the gun, and colour away. And I’d do it normally ( marker pens ), and digitally ( flash ). The flash verison is slightly rushed, as I’m tired, and I’d like to go to bed. I may do more editing on it tommorrow, but it’s mainly at the request of my friend Jason. So I give you the digital painting :

bigman_digitalcolour.png

And what I’d like to think as probably my best marker-based image, which I will probably get printed, and give framed to my friend…

bigman_markercolour.png

Really is a pity about this scanner. I was going to digitise the image, and print a pdf. . . but I just don’t know if it will look the same! Will have to do some test prints, maybe find a better scanner. If anyone has any suggestions for improving scanning quality, I’d love to hear from you.

– aA

About aA

I'm a 28 year old Designer from Brisbane, Australia. I've got a keen interest in Motion Graphics, Illustration, and Game Design. View all posts by aA

Leave a Reply

