Deathspank

I’ve been keeping an eye on one of my favourite game developer’s (Ron Gilbert – Maniac Mansion, Monkey Island) blog over the last few days.  The allure of a mysterious timer was oh-so-intruiging.  Well finally the timer is down to 0, and Mr Gilbert has done exactly what I had hoped.  He’s announced his new RPG Adventure game, which he describes as “perfect melding of a Monkey Island style adventure game with the wicked RPG game play of Diablo”.

Let me just repeat that.

“Perfect melding of a Monkey Island style adventure game with the wicked RPG game play of Diablo”

deathspank-s1e1.jpg

I think every single monkey island fan just exploded in a shower of various colours and flavours. Although I’m not very happy with the idea of episodic content ( It never really works properly in my opinion.  Valve certainly has the wrong idea – though Telltale ( with Sam And Max ) managed to keep release dates set every time, and it did feel more like lots of little episodes, not people HAVING episodes while waiting an entire year for a short little game with tacked on ( albiet amazingly awesome ) extra games.

If the GrumpyGamer comics are anything to go by, it should have an amazing art direction, and I love the designer – so I am now eagerly awaiting what I hope to be the future of Adventure games.  Looks to be a good year for the auteurs of gaming.  Tim Schafer, Ron Gilbert ? I Salute you.

About aA

I'm a 28 year old Designer from Brisbane, Australia. I've got a keen interest in Motion Graphics, Illustration, and Game Design. View all posts by aA

Leave a comment