Fluid Simulation Update

So Progress has been slow. I’ve been working, and I’ve been sick – so time hasn’t exactly been on my side. Since my last blog post, we’ve been spending the time trying to figure out a decent implementation of a physics paper on Viscoelastic fluid simulation – however were unable to gain satisfactory results. So we decided the other day to port across our old code into XNA and see how it held up. Quite well actually – initial implementation was a complete ( and relatively easy ) success.

From here we implemented our spatial grid, and gained a drastic improvement in the processing time and quality.

There are plenty of other improvements we can make as well, as well as a (hopefully) massive improvement in the spatial grid calculations which we’ll be implementing during the week. We’re going to modify the springs so they have both repulsive and attractive properties – as well as add some viscosity settings to allow the liquid to behave less jelly-like. Essentially we’re going to try and add elements from that physics paper into a system we already know works, and works relatively well ( 1500 particles is the max we’ve managed to achieve with no loss of FPS – though I believe in the second video I took it does start to slow before the end ).

I’m also planning on buying a 2nd monitor this week, which should allow me to increase my productivity a little.

As long as I don’t get any more sick, the plan for this week is as follows :
– Improve current Blob Code
– Work on Collisions with Solid objects
– Attempt a ‘Marching Squares’ Algorithm for edge detection
– Implement Flash IK Prototype for XNA Testing

So it’s a busy week of programming, with (Hopefully) some lovely visual results.
I’ll be uploading videos to vimeo throughout the week, and any major updates I will post here to the blog.

– Anthony.

About aA

I'm a 28 year old Designer from Brisbane, Australia. I've got a keen interest in Motion Graphics, Illustration, and Game Design. View all posts by aA

3 responses to “Fluid Simulation Update

  • a|A

    Yeah, that’s what the ‘marching squares’ algorithm is for. Essentially it moves through a grid, and determines a contour line that runs around the circumference. I just have to figure out how to implement it best. But that’s on the cards for tonight.

  • wonko

    this is seriously hoopy, I love the elastic fluidity of the surface, eddys and turbulance subsurface, how there appears to be depth compression and it’s general “wibbly-wobblyness”

    I gather you will map these particles to other graphic objcts that will overlap and form a visually “solid” liquid?

Leave a Reply

