1 Hour Timelapse Drawing (almost)

I decided to set myself a challenge last night; to see how quickly I could whip up a new drawing from an old unused sketch. I recorded screenshots every 5 seconds using chronolapse, then stitched them together into a movie. I figured I’d give you people an insight into how I draw these things.

Using one of my old sketches as a guide; It ended up taking me a little over an hour to finish the illustration, and for something I finished quite quickly, I think its not half bad.

Here is the video and finished drawing for your viewing pleasure.  Enjoy.


Music is “Japan – Ghosts”

About aA

I'm a 28 year old Designer from Brisbane, Australia. I've got a keen interest in Motion Graphics, Illustration, and Game Design. View all posts by aA

6 responses to “1 Hour Timelapse Drawing (almost)

  • Amy

    I like it. Can’t help wanting to dissect it, though. Is that the same tie that the other two figures are wearing silencing the little girl? Is that a bleeding name badge the middle figure is wearing?

    (Sorry. I’m like the old woman going ‘Who’s that? I thought that was the baddie. Is he in on the plan? Is that the same person? What are they doing?’ in the middle of a movie. Loudly. I shall instead silently contemplate the Mysteries of Art.)

    • aA

      No no! On the contrary! Dissect away! I always love hearing peoples interpretations. It means that spent some time looking at it, rather than saying ‘heh, cool’ *close*.

      Yes, the tie links all three characters together.
      and Yes, that is a bleeding name badge.

      Thankyou for the comment !

      – A.

  • The Wah

    I love this picture, Anthony.

    It reminds me very heavily of a favourite comic of mine, Johnny the Homicidal Maniac.. and Squee. In fact, you have an wonderful Jhonen Vasquez style to your work but with your own AMass originality

    • aA

      Thanks Wah!
      Yeah, people have said I have a Jhonenish style to my drawings. Happy Noodle Boy was always my favourite!

      When drawing the artist in the Arachnis picture, I ended up drawing a character that actually looked almost identical to Invader Zim.

  • Jasonsational

    FANTASTIC man! I like this timelapse stuff.
    REALLY great.

    • aA

      Thanks Jason!
      I’ve been meaning to do this for a while. I was bored last night and finally got around to it!

      I think I’ll try and do it for my next big project, I’m sure that would be more interesting.

Leave a Reply

