Processing things again

Recently I’ve felt the urge to get back into interaction design.  I’m not sure what prompted this desire – however I am not complaining.  Interaction design is essentially what I have my degree in, and it’s something I really enjoy doing.

I was talking to my friend Julia the other day, and discussing the new King George Square here in Brisbane, and essentially wishing they had done something much more interesting with the space.  This prompted discussions about motion capture and projectors and all sorts of interesting things, and prompted me to finally pick up a new webcam, and start coding again. While fighting a fluey brain, I spent tonight getting the hang of Processing again (Those who know my work in the past might know that I used processing for my ‘aAVis’ Music Visualisation Tool).

I worked on porting my flocking code ( used in my ‘twitbirds’ project ) from Actionscript 3 to Processing:

Flocking Experiment 01

Have a look at the link above and have a play.  The particles should flock around your mousepointer.  It’s very simple, but it was a good way to remember how to use processing again and get back into the swing of things.  This will most likely be the base for a project I will work on, combining audio, and motion capture.  More on the project as it develops.

I figure for the projects I have in mind, I will use a combination of Processing, Actionscript 3 ( simply because it’s the language I know the best, and it can do some rather neat things ), and if I find the time, I’m also going to try my hand at the ever popular Open Frameworks.

All in all, I am excited about all of this.  On the side, I am also working on my illustration projects (I currently have been asked by the wonderful Natalie Bochenski to do some more artwork and Merchendise for the upcoming production of ‘Tasmanian Babes Fiasco‘).

About aA

I'm a 28 year old Designer from Brisbane, Australia. I've got a keen interest in Motion Graphics, Illustration, and Game Design. View all posts by aA

One response to “Processing things again

  • Girl Clumsy

    Aw, thanks for the kind words. :)

    Always fantastic to have your skills onboard. Look forward to more interactive stuff. I don’t know how you do it. (No really, I have no idea how this stuff works – it may as well be magic).

    :)

Leave a Reply

