Tasmanian Babes Fiasco : Process Sketches

I have a particular system that I use when drawing characters.  To begin with, I sketch out really rough ideas of clothing, items, basic size and stature of the character into my small notebook.  After this, I usually draw a full character pose ( often not the final build/bodyshape ) to get a more detailed idea of how the whole character design will work.

For those of you who don’t know, last  year I worked on merchandise and programme illustrations for Brisbane Arts Theatre’s production of He Died with a Felafel In His Hand.  This script was based on a wonderful book by John Birmingham, who also wrote a ‘sequel’ : “The Tasmanian Babes Fiasco”.  Coming next week, the Brisbane Arts Theatre will be the first in the world to perform this on stage!  Director Natalie Bochenski has asked me to do some illustrations again, and so I have.

In doing this merch and design work, I have seen the actors, but not the specific costumes they will be wearing.  I’ve had them described to me, and from that point – I can go nuts.  As long as you can look at them and say ‘ahh yes, I know who this is’ then I feel I’ve done my job perfectly.

I won’t show you any of the finished work just yet ( You’ll have to go to the show to see it ! ) but I thought I would share some photos I took of progress shots, rough sketches, and character designs. Some of these will be used, others won’t.  Enjoy! I’ve blurred out some of the sketches that are gags in the show.  I don’t want to give away some of the best sight gags in the production!

– A.

About aA

I'm a 28 year old Designer from Brisbane, Australia. I've got a keen interest in Motion Graphics, Illustration, and Game Design. View all posts by aA

5 responses to “Tasmanian Babes Fiasco : Process Sketches

Leave a Reply

