Animal Rankings exhibition hopes

Some of you might be familiar with my Animal Rankings series.  Essentially I draw animals, then let people rank them based on how awesome they think that particular animal is.  I’ve decided I’d quite like to extend their reach.

Ideally I would love to have an Animal Rankings exhibition, but there is one very important element I would like to retain in their progression from digital to physical: Interactivity.

People still need to be able to have their say on how the animals are ordered.  I want people to be able to physically move the items on the wall to suit their own personal tastes.  Immediately I start running into problems, specifically how to stop people stealing the prints.  Ideally I would love to have the entire exhibit as one big digital artwork, with little digital ‘upvote’ buttons that the users could press to rearrange the entire ranking system.  But that would cost mountains of money.

up, out, across

up, out, across

The only other system I can think of, is to build some sort of reordering structure.  I’ve come up with a prototype that enables the prints to be pulled out, up, and then can slide along a rack to reorder.  This system would work perfectly.  Were it not for the fact that the structure would end up being some 10 metres long, and I don’t know many spaces available to me with walls of that length.

Ultimately, I think I might just have to trust that my lovely patrons will move, but won’t steal my prints.

It’s definitely something I want to consider – because the animal rankings need to be exhibited, and the interactivity is integral. If they can’t be moved, then they won’t be shown.

I have also been considering using something like http://www.pozible.com.au/ to raise some money to get the exhibition going. These crowdfunding websites offer different ‘rewards’ based on different levels of payment. I was contemplating having some levels gifted with an animal of that donation-givers choosing, higher levels with a free print, and so on and so forth.  It might even be a nice alternative to the gallery exhibit itself – and merely have the funding to get prints/magnets etc made for people to have.

Please let me know what you think.  If enough people show interest, I’ll know if this is an undertaking to continue contemplating.

– a.

About aA

I'm a 28 year old Designer from Brisbane, Australia. I've got a keen interest in Motion Graphics, Illustration, and Game Design. View all posts by aA

Leave a Reply

